Marriage License & Notary
• Both parties must be present for a license to be issued.
•The license fee is $50.00
• License is good for 30 days and can be used the day of issuance. (No refunds will be given for expired licenses)
• The license must be used within the State of Kentucky.
• There is no blood test and NO waiting period.
• You must show a picture ID such as a driver’s license, ID card, passport, or military ID. If you are under 18, please see information below.
• If non-citizen of the United States, Photo ID is required.
• You do not need documentation of Divorce.
• Parents full names including mother’s maiden name.
• Name, Address, Birthdate, Race
• Previous Number of Marriages.
NOTE: THE COUNTY CLERK ONLY ISSUES THE MARRIAGE LICENSE. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO GET MARRIED IN THE COURTHOUSE, YOU WILL NEED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH ONE OF THE JUDGES BELOW.
Judges Contact info:
Judge Clymer – 270-444-4707
Judge Henschel – 270-575-7133
Judge Kitchen – 270-575-7400
District Judges – 270-575-7261
How to become a notary:
– Visit the Kentucky Secretary of State website to fill out and submit your application. (https://web.sos.ky.gov/notaries/index)
– Purchase a notary bond from an insurance company. Bond must be worth at least $1,000.
– After you receive an email from the Secretary of State saying your notary application has been approved, and you receive your bond paperwork, come in to the Clerk’s office to take your oath.
– You will need to bring your bond paperwork with you to the Clerk’s office.
– Filing fee for notaries is $19.00
For notary laws and regulations, visit https://web.sos.ky.gov/notaries/Statutes
NOTE: THE COUNTY CLERK’S OFFICE DOES NOT NOTARIZE DOCUMENTS
Forms must be completed and mailed or brought in person to:
McCracken County Clerk
301 South 6th St.
Paducah, KY 42003
Forms cannot be e-mailed or faxed as they must contain the original signature.